Sunday, January 6, 2013

Guns

Starting to notice social media entries discussing reasons why "we" shouldn't consider taking people's guns away. I can't help but notice that anyone suggesting gun control measures is very specific about what to ban or do: magazine clips over 10 rounds, background checks at gun shows, etc. Also can't help but notice that almost everyone saying we shouldn't consider this uses the collective "guns". Scare your side into thinking the other side wants to take away your hunting rifle, pistol, shotgun, etc. so you will go along with protecting your right to own assault rifles and massive magazine clips. It's not an all or nothing proposition. Sensible gun control measures are not a slippery slope to the rise of Hitler II, it just sounds scary. It's also called rhetoric. I propose we also recognize that we already have controls on weaponry. Private citizens aren't allowed to build and wield cluster bombs, ICBMs, or anything else that sounds hyperbolic. The point is, why is it wrong to consider drawing the line somewhere on the side of "not allowing massive killing in short time span" when we already do that? I hate that any idiot can carry a concealed weapon in my state, mostly because I can't protect against that idiot dropping his loaded gun in a theater and accidentally shooting my child. Why not tie concealed carry permits with mandatory training and certification? You know, the kind of training that teaches you not to put a loaded weapon without the safety on in your pants pocket? More guns without mandatory training will lead to more untrained idiots brandishing weapons every time he feels threatened, increasing the odds that said idiot will accidentally shoot me or someone I love. My last word today on this is a question: why does your assumed 2nd amendment right to bear any arm you define as constitutionally protected trump my right to domestic tranquility? A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed.

2 comments:

  1. huh, 4th article? thought it was 2nd amendment. knowing you, this is a test to see if people are reading.

    at any rate, your question is a valid one....

    ReplyDelete
  2. Unintentional mistake I have since fixed, but thanks for pointing it out. I welcome the opportunity to address my errors. Frankly I'm shocked anyone is even reading this.

    ReplyDelete